Last updated : 04 May 2007 By Ed
Cristiano Ronaldo has been voted Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association. He came top of the journalists' poll ahead of Didier Drogba.

Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes were third and fourth respectively.

Ronaldo will be presented with his latest accolade at the FWA Footballer of the Year dinner at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London on May 17.

Chairman of the FWA, Paul Hetherington said: 'After the events of last summer at the World Cup, the vote of the Football Writers' Association shows that what we are all interested in is honouring the best player in the country.

'There has been no agendas carried over from last summer.

'This was a heavy poll of our members. Cristiano has been a runaway winner, and deservedly so.'

Hetherington added: 'We also know we have a player who is absolutely delighted and honoured to receive this accolade.'