Top four dominate PFA Players Player award shortlist

Last updated : 16 April 2012 By DSG

The nominees are as follows (in alphabetical order). Players Player; Sergio Aguero (Man City), Joe Hart (Man City), Scott Parker (Tottenham), Wayne Rooney (Man United), David Silva (Man City) and Robin Van Persie (Arsenal).

Manchester United striker and 2009/10 winner of the award Wayne Rooney has netted 31 times so far for his club this season and a total of 178 - one short of legend George Best - helping the Red Devils to a clear lead at the top of the Premier League.

Manchester rivals City have three players nominated - Goalkeeper Joe Hart, who has kept a total of 17 clean sheets so far this season, Spanish midfield maestro David Silva, who has helped the club keep up the pressure at the top of the table, and Argentinian striker Sergio Aguero, who could become only the third player to claim both Players' Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards, after Andy Gray in 1976-77 and Cristiano Ronaldo in 2006/07.

Tottenham midfielder Scott Parker earns his place in the final six after strong performances in a great season for Harry Redknapp's team, who may no longer be challenging for the Premier League title, but will be hoping to qualify for Champions League football next season.

After a shaky start to the season Robin Van Persie has led Arsenal from the front, scoring 34 goals in total for the Gunners and leading the Premier League goalscorer table with 27.

Simon Boynton, managing Director for DSG said ?it?s always an exciting time of Year when the nominees are released and with so many players having outstanding seasons we predict its going to be a very tight decision on who the winners will be. We may even end up with a player winning both awards which would be fantastic. We'd now love to hear from our visitors and fans to see who they think will win by taking part in the poll here: .'

Source: DSG

Source: DSG